Posted by: Becky | June 17, 2011

Homemade Disherwasher Detergent

I had planned on having a headband tutorial for today but the sunny day’s have been calling way from my sewing machine.

I went grocery shopping the other day and freaked when I saw that my dish washing soap had jumped up in price by 2 dollars. So I left it sitting right there on the shelf.  When I got home I hopped on the internet to see if I could make it myself.

Wow, there are quite a few pages that have all kinds of different recipes and most pretty much call for the same things, the only real difference is the amounts.

Here’s the one that works for me and its super easy to make, like 5 mins.

Supplies:

1 cup of Borax (20 Mule Team)

1 cup Washing Soda (not baking soda) Arm & Hammer makes this

1/2 cup of Salt

1 pack of Kool-Aid Lemonade (citric acid)

Container with a lid

Mix it all in the container (more or less depending on how much you want to do)

In some of the new dishwasher, homemade detergents leave a cloudy film on the dishes, use vinegar as the rinse aid.  It does wonders.

The borax and washing soda can be found in the laundry aisle.  Each box costs less than 2.oo a piece.

So happy clean dishes everyone 😮

Leave a Reply

Categories

