Posted by: Becky | June 16, 2011

Yo-Yo Flower Tutotial

It’s summer time and I love sewing for my kids.

And a great way to add a bit of flair to my girls clothes is to add yo-yo flowers.

They are very easy and quick to sew up.

Supplies:

-scrap fabric in color of your choice

-matching thread

-sewing needle

-button in size and color of your choice

~Start with a squarish piece of fabric in any size you wish for the yo-yo (i used about a 5×5 square)

~ Then fold in half

~And in half again

~Then fold into a triangle (I placed a pin in the middle to help keep everything still as I cut)

~Cut the top of the Triangle into a semi-circle so you end up with a cone

~When you unfold you will end up with a circle

~I did the next part by hand, thread a needle with matching thread.  Use a running stitch around the edge of the circle

~When you reach the end, pull the thread tight.  I tack the thread through the back and tie it off with a knot.

~I finish off with a button sewn in the center for the flower.

Here is your finished Yo-Yo flower!  These can be made in all colors and sizes.

Here’s two ways that I use them

In a set of three sewn on a top

As a flower with leaves for a head band (will make a tutorial for this one tomorrow)

(sorry for the weird picture, my daughter didn’t want to take it off her head)

These are just a quick and easy way to add detail to anything.  There are endless possibilities for the use of Yo-Yo’s. I have seen quilts made out of them, necklaces, on clothes, balls for teething babies and many more items.

Enjoy and happy sewing

Leave a Reply

Categories

