Posted by: Becky | November 23, 2010

Knitted ear muff/band

With the cold weather in full swing up here its hats, gloves, snowpants, jackets, etc time. I am not one for always wearing a hat.  I do love the ear bands or muffs.  I normally get the ones made out of fleece but I always lose them.

So I figured this year I would make a few myself out of scrap yarn I have laying around.

It was pretty simple to make.  I took two strand of a worsted weight yarn (I used Caron’s Simply Soft)

and cast on 16 stitches with size 8 needles.  I then knitted in a seed stitch pattern (Row 1: knit 1 purl 1, Row 2: purl 1 knit 1, repeat)

I knitted until it measured about 20inches, cast off.  Sew the two short ends together and the finished project is a ear muff to keep your ears (or mine) nice and toasty warm.

I think one I make I will decrease at some point so there is less bulk under my hair (at the bottom)

(sorry for the bad picture, it was kind hard to get a good one of me wearing it)

This was super simple to make and knits up quickly (maybe and hour or so).

I plan on making more for myself and for my girls.

Enjoy

 

Responses

  1. I am blog hopping today and decided to stop by your blog.

    You seem so talented!!

    Hope you will stop by and follow either or both of my blogs.

    Jessicas Lil Corner is our family blog http://jessicaslilcorner.blogspot.com

    So Stylilized is where I am currently offering FREE custom blog designs at http://sostylilized.blogspot.com

    Have a blessed day! :0)


Leave a Reply

Categories

