Posted by: Becky | October 11, 2010

Apple Butter = Yummy :o)

This past weekend I made apple butter for my family.

I have never had or made apple butter for but I knew that a lot of people said it was good.  Plus my kids also asked for me to make it.  (what I didn’t know at the time is my hubby loves the stuff)

I searched the internet on how to make it and found many different ways to make it.  I wanted to use my crock-pot so I only looked for those recipes.  All the ones I found were pretty similar so I took what I like from them and came up with this:

ingredients:

Apples ( I used Gala, Fuji and McIntosh)

1 1/2 cups brown sugar

1 1/2 cups sugar

3/4 cup water or apple cider

4 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp all spice

1 tsp nugmet

1 tsp cloves

 

~ peel, core and slice enough apples to fill crock-pot 3/4 the way full

~ add sugars, spices, apple cider (i used water)

~turn crock-pot on high for 4 hours (stir ever hour or so)

~then turn to low and let set for about another 4 hours or until looks like this:

(will have cooked down)

~then with a regular blender or hand-held one blend apple mixture smooth (if you want to)

~I used regular blender and with small amounts (about a cup) blended, then poured into canning jar

~I was able to fill 3 mason jars full and used the inverted method to seal the jars.

~you can freeze the apple butter, if you don’t want to can it.

You can use apple butter on almost anything you use jam or jelly on.  I had it on my toast this morning, very yummy! My hubby said it goes great on Scrapple (I had to look this one up, it’s a Pennsylvania Dutch treat)

 

Enjoy!!

 

Responses

  1. I’ve never had apple butter, looks good! I found you through MBC and am your newest follower, would love a follow back!
    http://kpsprice.blogspot.com/

  2. Looks delicious, I love apple butter!

  3. Ciao ! the apple butter looks delicious !

  4. I love spicy flavors, so I’ve always wanted to try apple butter. Hopefully, one day I’ll be able to get a crockpot so I can make this.

  5. Thanks for sharing your yummy apple butter on Fresh Friday/Seasonal Saturday; boy do I ever need to get going and make this! Looks like you’ve got some of my readers up above commenting on it too! Great! I hope you share a post again this weekend. Roz


Leave a Reply

Categories

