Posted by: Becky | October 6, 2010

Knitted Mitts for My Cold Hands

When the cold weather hits up here I normally don’t have a problem.  Grab a quilt, sweatshirt, cup of tea or sweater and I am good.  But my hands stay cold all the time.  And it really doesn’t work to wear gloves in the house or in class.  So I went on a hunt to see if I could find something in my knitting magazines that would work for me.  And I am happy to say I found it:

In the Holiday 2008 Interweave Knits Magazine I found the Alpine Embroidered Mitts pattern.  It is by Pam Allen and I loved it. 

It has open fingers, almost like fingerless gloves.  I found some pretty pumpkiny yarn and my needles and set to work.

These knitted up pretty quickly and the pattern is written very well.  I didn’t have to wonder about what I was doing, she gave very clear instructions. I am very happy with the yarn I used Louisa Herding Kashmiri Aran.  This yarn is very easy to work with and is warm.  I did omit the embroidery part because I think I want to put white snowflakes on my mine and I will have to play around with that.(will get pictures up when I add that part)  But here’s to happy knitting and warm hands 😮

Leave a Reply

Categories

