Posted by: Becky | September 13, 2010

Fun Girl’s Tunic top

I love sewing for my girls.  I love finding basic patterns and changing them up.  I found this really cute fabric called Sweet Treats.  I knew that it would be the perfect fabric for my youngest girl.  I started with this pattern from Simplicity:

I used the tunic dress but changed it a bit.  I didn’t put in the zipper, I used buttons.  And I didn’t add the pocket and I put a coordinated fabric on the bottom. 

The top was very easy after I cut out the pattern:sew the  back  seam, the sides, top of the straps, and halfway down the front. 

I the cut a 5inch strip of the striped fabric and then sewed to the bottom.  I used the width of the fabric so the strip was longer than the bottom but I didn’t want a gathered look.  I used a pleat down the front instead.  Then used a half inch hem.

Then I used the bias tape to edge the sleeves and neck line.  The center was sewn down after ironing the seam allowance.  I hand tacked the buttons down and used ribbon as button ties.

My Ash loves her new tunic and has told me that she is going to wear it for school pictures:

I am very happy how quickly it turned out, only about 35 mins to complete 😮

Responses

  1. Great job, Becky! I can’t believe it only took you 35 minutes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

