Posted by: Becky | August 27, 2010

Reconstructed dress

I always look at the mark down racks at the store.  Going to the PX (military) I love looking at the $2.00 rack.  I got luck the last time I went in.  I found this dress, loved the print but not so much with the zipper down the front.

I figured I loved the print and could do something with it.  So when I brought it home I had first just figure I would cut the top off and make the bottom into a really cute skirt. 

I put it on my dress form and left it there for a bit. (looking at it when I passed to make sure I wanted it to be a skirt)

After about an hour I realized that nope a skirt wouldn’t do.  I saw a really cute top out of it.

So it came of the dress form and work began.  I just ripped out the seams for the zipper and front ruffle.  Then came removing the top from the bottom. (I am glad I took out the zipper.  It was a very heavy duty zipper and was hard to open/close.  And just didn’t work with the lightweight cotton fabric used to make this outfit)

I saved the top and ruffles, will make that into something else at a later date. 

I then rummaged through my fabric stash and found a black knit fabric to make a ruffle on the top.  And elastic for the top and under the bust.  A bit of sewing and this is the finished top

I am super happy with how it came out. (will post pics with me wearing later :o)

Total project time was about an hour (most of it taking apart seams)

Enjoy

Responses

  1. Wow, very nice! Can’t wait to see it on you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

